Helix Nebula – acrylic painting

Helix nebula
Helix nebula, 40×50 cm

The eye through which I see God is the same eye through which God sees me; my eye and God’s eye are one eye, one seeing, one knowing, one love.

Sermons of Meister Eckhart

Third piece from series of painting  Nebulae. This  nebula, known also as God’s eye nebula is maybe one of the most popular occurrences in the space.

It seems appropriate to show this painting trough these coming  days: Day of the Dead, Halloween, All saints,  All souls day, Samhain… Days when we remember our dead, think about our mortality and higher purpose in life. Days when we look above us to reach out to our God, Creator, Universe and HE looks upon us. Days when we transcend eerie sense of prescence to holy union of souls.

About the painting:

This painting was made with dry brush technique, as described in article about painting the Seahorse Nebula  and  Eagle Nebula.

I’ve panted the canvas black and added circles of blue shades – grading from lighter in the middle to darker to the end of circle. Than, while still wet, I’ve pulled the brush firmly over the circle to create rays. I kept adding other colors (white, yellow, orange, red)  with circular movements of brush to create hazy look of gases. Finally I splashed white color with wide flat wet brush, to create stars.

 

Details:

Leave a comment